Beerock

2012 f800gs water pump removal issues

Beerock

I'm going to do my best to try and get the order of things correct I just got this bike and I'm a seasoned mechanic. 

IF YOU DON'T WANT TO READ ALL OF THIS SCROLL TO WHERE IT SAYS READ FROM HERE!

I knew the bike had a problem with the stator so I bought a new stator and updated rotor from a 2013 F800 GS I also changed the oil and filter and got a new LED headlight for it and Dunlop trail Max mission tires.

When I first got it I knew I was only running on the battery so I was short shifting it to preserve battery life.

One day while idling the bike I was taking pictures of the bike in the woods and the temp alarm came on. It went off as soon as I started riding it.

Now that the bike was running good with the new stator I did a couple short rides.

First ride was with a couple friends and we were Riding pretty hard and I was driving it to 7K to 8K My friend was in the T-Rex in front of us and I had just fixed a couple things on his bike and I filled his overflow pretty high.

When we did a couple hard acceleration runs I thought his T-Rex was spraying me with coolant from the reservoir It turns out that coolant was from my overflow reservoir. My bike didn't overheat at all until later in the day the alarm started to come on but I could make it go away if I stayed above 4,000 RPMs and 30 mph.

After we rode I did a bunch of research and read about how hard it is to bleed the cooling systems in these bikes I tackled it and bled the system the best I could. The bike idled for a long time and the temp fans came on and shut off and the bike never had the over heat alarm come on. So I figured I was good to go.

The next day we rode with two Honda RC51s a CBR 600 and R1 and some BMW 1200 Street fighter I was keeping up with the RC51s in the twisties those Dunlop trail Max mission tires are no joke on the road They perform like an 80/20 but give you the off-road ability of a 50/50 very impressed.