IGNORED

05 RT cracked throttle cams

vhntr1

Well shi.... I had my Tupperware of my bike doing all my mantnece for the season,well I thought I would check the plastic cams and they are bouth cracked,the bike has 63,000 miles on it.I don't know for sure witch way to go I am a so so mechanic but I think taking this job on myself might be too much,I thought about sending them to Beamer bits but their a little pricey,looking for advice for my situation.

thanks to all 

11 hours ago, vhntr1 said:

Well shi.... I had my Tupperware of my bike doing all my mantnece for the season,well I thought I would check the plastic cams and they are bouth cracked,the bike has 63,000 miles on it.I don't know for sure witch way to go I am a so so mechanic but I think taking this job on myself might be too much,I thought about sending them to Beamer bits but their a little pricey,looking for advice for my situation.

thanks to all 

Morning vhntr1

You don't have a lot of choices, 'Beamer Bits' is not nearly as expensive as buying new throttle bodies from BMW.  Used throttle bodies from E-Bay is a big crap shoot with a large number having cracks, you can try Bing USA as they will install new plastic cams or full cams/shafts but (personally) I'm not enthused with how they re-time the base idle screw settings.

You can buy the parts from Bing USA cams-on-new-shafts, then install them yourself but that is a bit fiddly with some basic mechanical knowledge involved. 

Here is a write up that I did a while back on installing the cams/shafts yourself with re-setting the base idle screws.

https://www.bmwsporttouring.com/topic/92006-posted-to-see-how-a-tb-shaft-install-how-to-reads-in-a-full-thread/

Thanks DR for the reply,I have a friend that was a BMW tech at a dealership 20 years ago maybe he can assist me,do you have a link were I can buy the parts?

thanks!

10 minutes ago, vhntr1 said: