IGNORED

servo-assisted brakes in curves

christianf

I heard that front breaking in curves brings the bike back straight which can be dangerous since it will tend to direct the trajectory out of the curve, even if using only the rear break since the servo assisted break will engage the front break, would it not be a good idea to disconnect this item?. Is this possible and what are the issues with doing this?

I’ve been riding 1150 RT’s since 2004.  Over 120,000 miles, many of which on twisty roads.  I’ve never experienced what you describe.   BTW I only use the front brake lever on pavement.   

There are two things, servo assisted brakes, and linked brakes.

What you asked about has more to do with linked brakes than with the servo assist.

MANY bikes have linked brakes, meaning that applying only front or rear brakes, also causes the opposite brakes to get activated by a varying amount.

and in most implementations, the end result is very balanced application of brakes.

The servo assist is much less common. And I agree with many, saying that it bit of solution looking for a problem.

The only issue I had with the servo assist was that it made it more difficult to just slightly drag the rear brake when doing a full-lock right U-turn. 
That, and the added to the complexity of servicing the brakes. 

Thank you for the distinction. It makes sense and I will have to check the manual

1150RT ‘04. I am not sure if the ratio of assist. 

I use the front break to stop or slow down before a curve if I want to stay safe. 

8 hours ago, christianf said:

I heard that front breaking in curves brings the bike back straight which can be dangerous since it will tend to direct the trajectory out of the curve, even if using only the rear break since the servo assisted break will engage the front break, would it not be a good idea to disconnect this item?. Is this possible and what are the issues with doing this?

Morning christianf