IGNORED

What has happen to us?

Whip

15 years ago when I joined this forum every day people made plans to ride. I remember riding 100 miles to meet Steve Carr while he checked out a new bike and then ride 300 more to meet another group of members for dinner. I got home that night around midnight with a big smile and a bunch of new friends. The first time I went to Torrey we had about 60 people and all we did was laugh, eat, drink and ride. Un Rally were the highlight of the year and it didn't matter where it was we did our best to be there.

I want to get back to that but I don't know how.

I know people blame Facebook but I don't buy it.

Did we get old?

Is there anything I/we can do?

@hANNAbONE

@AdventurePoser

@Limecreek

@BrianT

@SeanC

@Marty Hill

@Stir

@Bill_Walker

@azkaisr

@norah

@DouglasR

I want to hear from everyone!!!!

• Like 2

Whip, I started riding at 59 so all of you had a head start on me.  I used to cross the country twice each year to look at the Pacific and attend Torrey.  Now I ship the bike to the west coast almost every year so I can see friends and look at the Pacific Ocean.  I'll be 84 in april and am very lucky to still be riding, tho a lot less.

See you at the UN.  My guess is that passion lessens towards all things as we age.  I do miss seeing the posts from a bunch of guys who are either no longer riding or gone.  Several wonderful guys who used to post a lot are sadly gone.  I miss 4 of them every day.

Marty

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

I hear you Whip. The MOA National rally used to attract close to 10,000 people; now, closer to 5000. I have almost nobody near me to ride with anymore as everyone has shifted priorities to other things.   :(

I was discussing this with a fellow BMW person on this site just yesterday.  I've never made an Un...but have been to Torrey a couple of times when I lived in N.California and a few MOA events like Sacramento and Marble Falls.