IGNORED

1150 RT maintenance repair manual

christianf

I just acquired a 2004 1150RT motorcycle and I am looking for a manual for maintenance since service shops are few and far between in the hudson valley. I am not very experienced in the matter (to put it mildly) but my friend is and he strongly suggested that I get used to service the bike myself. I am looking for a well illustrated step by step set of instructions. Any recommendation on the manual to look out for would be very much appreciated. I think I would prefer a better book form over online document. 

Thank you

8 hours ago, christianf said:

I just acquired a 2004 1150RT motorcycle and I am looking for a manual for maintenance since service shops are few and far between in the hudson valley. I am not very experienced in the matter (to put it mildly) but my friend is and he strongly suggested that I get used to service the bike myself. I am looking for a well illustrated step by step set of instructions. Any recommendation on the manual to look out for would be very much appreciated. I think I would prefer a better book form over online document. 

Thank you

Morning  christianf   

This is a bit difficult to answer as different manuals cover different areas  with more or less do-it-yourself  information.

The BMW service manual is written more for  experienced service personal so it assumes the service provider is familiar with the motorcycle & familiar with the basic service procedures. The BMW manual has very good (accurate)  torque values & covers the basic procedures but assumes the user has BMW specific special  tools & basic service knowledge  (not many service hints or home type work arounds in the BMW manual)

The Clymer service manual is much more (home mechanic) friendly with some service hints & some work arounds for the do-it-yourselfer. It is much better at talking an untrained do-it-yourselfer through a service project. But there are a few errors.