IGNORED

Is This Normal? Gas tank builds pressure and contracts.

Air_Head_Ed

Newbie here. My '94 R1100RS gas tank contracts and expands. Is This Normal?!

I can visibly see a gap between the gas tank and fairing. When I open the gas fill lid

I can hear the tank depressurize and the tank will expand.

What's up with that?

18 minutes ago, Air_Head_Ed said:

Newbie here. My '94 R1100RS gas tank contracts and expands. Is This Normal?!

I can visibly see a gap between the gas tank and fairing. When I open the gas fill lid

I can hear the tank depressurize and the tank will expand.

What's up with that?

Evening Air_Head_Ed   

Not normal, sounds like you have a plugged tank vent.

Could be a plugged up evap can (if your bike has one), or an incorrectly connected tank vent hose, or a pinched vent hose. (something not allowing the  fuel tank to vent correctly)

In any case you need to find the problem & repair it as  you can damage your fuel gauge sensor.

I don't think that your tank is pressurizing but instead it's probably going to  negative pressure (vacuum).   As the fuel is used out of the tank no air can get in to replace the used fuel so it goes negative pressure inside the tank then sucks the tank sides in.

Agreed negative pressure.  Mine did the same thing.  Evap canister was clogged, not allowing the tank to vent as fuel is being used.  Sounds like you need to do a canisterectomy. 

13 hours ago, Air_Head_Ed said:

D.R.,  Thank you! I'm glad it's not normal and will have it checked out soon.

Morning Air_Head_Ed   

There were 3 hoses going into that removed Evap can, one coming from the fuel tank vent, one going to atmosphere behind the R/H riders foot peg & one going to the purge solenoid on L/H side of motorcycle about mid frame area.