IGNORED

Interstate...how fast?

R65_Steve

Not a burst to pass a big truck...but how fast do you all ride on the Interstate, sustained?

I am new to having a bike that will do OK on the Interstate but I get a little uncomfortable at really fast speed.  Almost unexplainable.  

I went to the MOA Rally last week and the test ride went on I40.  I dropped back because I wasn't willing to do more than 75 on the test bike.

On my own, not much better...I was doing about 75 (in a 70) and two GS riders blew past me.  

I can't decide if it's the wind that bothers me or the speed "number". The bike feels ok and I can drive my car fast, just not keen on two wheel travel this way.  

Thoughts?

9 minutes ago, R65_Steve said:

Not a burst to pass a big truck...but how fast do you all ride on the Interstate, sustained?

I am new to having a bike that will do OK on the Interstate but I get a little uncomfortable at really fast speed.  Almost unexplainable.  

I went to the MOA Rally last week and the test ride went on I40.  I dropped back because I wasn't willing to do more than 75 on the test bike.

On my own, not much better...I was doing about 75 (in a 70) and two GS riders blew past me.  

I can't decide if it's the wind that bothers me or the speed "number". The bike feels ok and I can drive my car fast, just not keen on two wheel travel this way.  

Thoughts?

Evening R65_Steve

It depends on the situation & on the bike but I'm usually in the upper 5% of the fastest. I can usually count the number of vehicles that pass me on one hand.

But the bike does make a difference as a faired bike with a good windscreen makes it easy to run triple digits & a bike with a no plastic & a short windscreen makes it an effort to ride comfortably at much above 70.

I see that  you have an R bike (not an RT) so that makes high speeds a bit more effort to feel comfortable with.