IGNORED

New GPS

Firefight911

Firefight911

I have reviewed and followed the many posts regarding GPS uses and issues. I have, finally, just ordered mine two weeks ago and am expecting to have it in my hot little hands this week. I am getting the BMW Nav II for my R1200ST.

My question is this: Where should I begin (other than, of course, reading the manual that it comes with)?

I want to get up to speed on how to use it, how to have it make life easier, make coffee, and warm my sleeping bag before crawling into it at night, etc.

Really, I want to know what everyone feels is the best way to get familiar with it. Shortcut tips, things not to do, etc.

Any help will be greatly appreciated as I have zero experience with GPS units.

TIA!!!!! wave.gifwave.gif

Jerry Johnston

The manual got me started, and when I started using it I'd copy the answer out of the manual and kept it until I learned thaat portion as well as asking questions from experts on this site. After a short while you'll pretty much know the basics. I also downloaded a small video on how to use Map Source that helped.

Hi Phil,

The gps is a great addition and I, like you, was concerned about getting up to speed when I first got one. The one thing you need to be vigilant about is not letting the unit distract you when you're riding. I would urge you to get out on some roads with as little traffic and as little access (i.e. side roads, stores, etc.) to get up to speed. I take a walk every day of around a mile and when I first got my gps I would take it with me and play with it then (may not be an option if yours isn't hand held). You could do some miles in the car with someone else driving. This will allow you to devote undivided attention to playing with the options. The bottom line is you want to be able to reach for the unit without looking at it and access whatever function you're looking for. I really enjoy mine and applaud you for the approach you're taking. Good luck and have fun. grin.gif