IGNORED

To keep or part out, 96 R1100RS with possible gearbox issue

Bubbadozer

I just got this bike in a trade recently. It has 88k miles with the sudden twitch in 2-3 rd gears occasionally. It doesn't do it all the time and shifts up and down pretty smoothly.

From what I have been reading, it sounds like the gearbox. The bike has a manufacture date of 3/96. It has service records from new until 2006 where it had 66k mikes all at the original BMW dealership it was purchased at. The service advisor told me it had a very detailed and thorough service history up to that point, then no service history.

It runs good, but now I am wondering if it's worth it to put $1600 or whatever into s transmission rebuild or not. That's $1600that could be put into a newer bike, but I know this engine could keep going for a lot longer. I would really appreciate opinions, ideas, etc regarding my decision. I'm new to the R1100RSL.

Thanks

Edited by Bubbadozer

If I *really* wanted an RS and everything else about it was in good to great shape, I'd put the money in. If I wasn't particularly enamored of the bike, and had the space/time to part it, is part it.

For that $1600 and what you could likely make for the parts (though requiring a good bit of fiddle work like listing, talking to buyers, packing/shipping and such) you'd be looking at a lot of bikes (BMWs included) you could buy in good shape.

Of course that's not saying that next bike wouldn't need a tranny work...

I just got this bike in a trade recently. It has 88k miles with the sudden twitch in 2-3 rd gears occasionally. It doesn't do it all the time and shifts up and down pretty smoothly.