IGNORED

'05 R1200RT Random Shutoff/Restart & Fail to Start

St0nkingByte

St0nkingByte

Hi guys,

I've been riding my 2005 R1200RT as my daily commuter for almost 12 years now. Until three years ago it was practically my only vehicle (well my wife owned two cars) that I went practically everywhere on. More recently it’s become mostly a commuter with a few longer trips but not as many as I would like.

The bike has 92K miles on it now and over the last few months I've started to have a problem where sometimes when I turn the ignition to the on position the bike just doesn’t come on. Meaning it doesn’t boot up. More recently, I had a few fun incidents where it would just shut off in traffic, like I had turned the key to off. Usually it would come back to life and I could just hit the starter and go but twice it was completely dead and I had to pull over and a wait a few minutes before it would come on again.

I investigated a bunch of stuff, pulled all my plastics, checked my wiring, shorted out the kickstand switch, wiggled the ignition switch while it was on, etc. etc. and couldn’t find a problem. Finally, I realized it was a little hard to start and hey my battery is six years old so I replaced it. Since then its largely been more reliable but still it sometimes won’t come on when I turn the key to on and yesterday it ‘rebooted’ in traffic again on my way home from work.

If I could find a pattern that would recreate this problem I’d be happy to take it to the dealer and pay to get it fixed but I’m reluctant to go when it so seemingly random and I can’t recreate the problem reliably.

Has anyone seen this type of issue, is there a fix you could suggest or something I else I can check?

Thanks in advance for any hints!

Hi guys,