IGNORED

S1000XR

anubisss

Hi all. New here. Can;t get validated on S1000XR forum. It seems it takes an act of god to get approved by an admin. Thus all my questions are related to taht bike. Is there a subsection here for taht bike? IF so point in teh right direction please. I'm new to BMW's so that would be great. Thanks

Hi there, specific talk on the S1000XR is probably a bit limited here just because there's not a lot of members that own that bike, AFAIK.

But, we'll certainly let you be the first! :thumbsup: Pictures required! :grin:

Pat

I've heard they have a bit of a buzz at certain RPMs. Haven't had the chance to ride though.

Pat

Edited by TEWKS
Can't be bad compared to my 124 Harley.

It'd probably look something like this. :grin:

BMW S1000XR

dremel_pumpkin.jpg

124 Harley

c9e1951b-ab14-4b5a-8707-2b0a95a7753b.jpg._CB286293084__SR300,300_.jpg

Disclaimer...I've owned a Harley since 86 and happen to like them a lot. Being a new guy I didn't want to give you the impression of Harley bashing in my joke.

Now, that just took all the fun out of it! :grin:

Pat

I have been looking at the S100r and the XR. The XR is taller, and has nice bags. I know BMW has long term plans to replace the R1200GS with the XR platform, but if you going to do some off-road riding, I am not sure the XR is ready for that. the KTM and GS still seem to have a significant lead over the XR in the off-road capabilities. I have only taken the XR for one short test ride, and on the pavement it was very nice. I did feel some vibration on the XR that was not felt on the S1000R. My test ride vehicle was not as bad as some reports have stated. I believe in 2016 or 2017 model they added a rubber dampening part to the handle bars. I believe it can be retro fitted to earlier bikes.

...I know BMW has long term plans to replace the R1200GS with the XR platform...

Do tell!!

I believe in 2016 or 2017 model they added a rubber dampening part to the handle bars...