IGNORED

Body Position

Green RT

The fourth suggestion on the list recently posted Five Riding Skills … talks about body position. It prompted me to post a short account of my experiences with body position.

For many, maybe most or all readers of this forum, the following comments will not contain any new advice about riding. I am posting it because there may be someone out there for whom it is new.

I started riding motorcycles at the age of 13. Except for a few periods without one for various reasons I have never stopped. I am 71 and have over 500,000 miles on two wheels. I have to confess I have never taken any riding classes of any kind, safety or any other. I have thought about it, but it never rose to the top of my priority list. I have spent some time reading books about riding and practicing and applying some of the things I learned from reading. The point of this short story is to relate one bad habit that I learned from reading about riding, and how I overcame it.

Early in my learning about riding motorcycles, I came across discussions of counter steering and explanations about how, unlike cars, two-wheeled vehicles do not go in the direction you point the front wheel. With a strong background in physics, the explanations all made sense and obviously worked in practice. I followed suggestions that "to go right, push on the right handgrip". My riding techniques worked okay but I was never as comfortable in curves as I would have liked.