IGNORED

Returning to riding after some time off

Green RT

I am interested in the experiences and advice of others about returning to riding after a layoff. I started riding powered two-wheeled vehicles with a moped when I was 13. Since then I have had a series of motorcycles (see signature) and covered maybe half a million miles on two wheels. Most of my life, I lived in the US where some form of transportation was necessary to live conveniently. Motorcycles were always my choice for transportation. Almost all the miles I put on motorcycles were to get somewhere I needed to go: work, the store, a business trip. I almost never got on the bike to ride just for the hell of it.

About 9 years ago, I moved to Mexico and my life style changed dramatically. I now live in a country and environment with really good public transit. I no longer need wheels to get anywhere I might want to go. Between local buses, cheap taxis, luxurious intercity buses, and hitch hiking I can inexpensively get where ever I want. I sold an RT before moving here nearly 10 years ago and have been bikeless since.

But I never lost the love of riding. I vacillated for years about getting another motorcycle, wondering what I would use it for since it wasn't needed and I don't have a lot of free time in my life for another recreation. Recently, I decided it was ridiculous to continue vacillating. If I was still thinking about after all this time, I should just do it. So I did.

All of this brings me to the point of this post. My first real experience back on a bike was a 6000 km trip through Northern Mexico and Southern California. After the first couple of days, I felt very comfortable on the bike. I don't feel like I have lost any of my defensive driving skills or awareness of the unique hazards the roads provide for motorcyclists. I know a lot of people take an annual safety/skills class. I don't think that is an option in my area.