IGNORED

How to handle sudden loss of tire pressure

blackyam

Hi, everyone. I tried to search, but I'm not very good at that; so, here I am asking.

I have had flat tires, but I've never experienced a sudden loss of pressure. I've always been fortunate to have found my tire flat at home, where I've been able to plug them in comfort. My question is, how should I handle a sudden loss of pressure while riding? (Riding straight up and down, leaned over in a curve, back tire, front tire.) Thanks in advance.

---John.

I'm not an expert on the subject because it has never happened to me and probably will never happen to you either. I hope I don't sound like a wise arse because I'm not trying to be....this time. :grin:

Unless you hit something large in the road and cut a tire or are running a dangerously bald tire, the likelihood of a blowout is slim to none IMO. (this ^ may be exactly what you are referring to)

If something like that did happen while leaned over in a turn, you are more than likely going to be sliding down the pavement. On the interstate I'd slowly roll off the throttle and move to the right as safely as possible. As this was happening I'd be hoping for the best and puckering the cheeks for all they're worth and screaming momma! :grin: Ok, that was the wise arse part of the story. :D

Pat

Unless you hit something large in the road and cut a tire or are running a dangerously bald tire, the likelihood of a blowout is slim to none IMO. (this ^ may be exactly what you are referring to)

Thanks, Pat. That's nice to hear.

The reason I asked is that I plugged a nail hole in my rear tire last Sunday. (This is my first successful plug using Nealey following the tips given by eddd on this board. [Thanks for the tips. The Nealey was easy to use.] I've used other plugs before, but now I carry only a Nealey based on recommendations here.)