headlight fail after grip ht switch yard sale

GMC

Last thing to do to button things up on my annual RT maintenance was to pull the grip heat switch apart. I've been nursing it along for a couple years, pulling it apart every year, cleaning it up and it works for another year. This time I let it "explode" when pulling it apart, the little spring and the metal ball now somewhere on my shop floor. Oh well...Got too impatient at end of day. Time to finally get a new switch.

So I button it back up as an empty switch for now, awaiting a new switch.

But then the headlights, and driving lights failed when I cranked it up. Hmmm.

Long day, so didn't even check the fuses yet, but thought I'd float this issue here.

I can flash the brights, but no brights on the normal bright switch position (only the "flash" position works), and no low beam, and no driving lights.

Can't imagine the headlights are tied to the grip heat, but I suppose its possible. Hard to believe it would be coincidence that the headlights fail just after screwing up my grip heat switch, but thats the question.

Will check fuses this week, and replace the switch (once I get my hands on one), but am scratching my head at where the problem initiated specifically (and therefore what will fix it).

Other notes: it's an RTP-P convert (so the switch may be different), and I did have the bike slightly torn apart in the shop for a couple weeks doing mild annual mx, so something else could have been a factor. But I didn't even have the front cowling off this time...

Last thing to do to button things up on my annual RT maintenance was to pull the grip heat switch apart. I've been nursing it along for a couple years, pulling it apart every year, cleaning it up and it works for another year. This time I let it "explode" when pulling it apart, the little spring and the metal ball now somewhere on my shop floor. Oh well...Got too impatient at end of day. Time to finally get a new switch.