IGNORED

2006 vs. 2007 R1200RT

Daxamundo

Hi All, New member looking to buy a R1200RT. This will be my first BMW, as I've only been on Japanese bikes since I started riding back in '99.

I've done some sport touring; most of the longer distance trips were on a 2007 FJR1300. I'm now on a 2006 Honda VFR800. I like the VFR, but I want to take my wife on some rides and the VFR is not comfortable for two-up riding. Actually, it is not that comfortable for solo riding either.

Given the budget I am trying to stick to (somewhere south of $9000), I'm looking at the '06 - '08 models. I found a 2006 and 2007, both under $7000. The 2006 has about 18,500 miles on it, and the 2007 has just over 41,000 miles on it.

I understand there were some issues with the '06 brakes, due to the use of servos. Is the 2007 a better buy, despite more miles? I realize there are other factors, such as options, but both bikes appear to be well outfitted with the features I'm concerned with (mainly cruise control and heated grips). There is also a 2008, with around 44k miles, for $8150.

I'm just not familiar enough with the BMW bikes to know what to expect with 40,000+ miles. My guess is that it comes down to how well they have been maintained, which is mostly true of any used bike.

Thanks in advance.

You shouldn't be put off by mileage - even 40,000 is not really very much for such a large capacity engine. I would argue that a machine that has actually been put to some real use should be in a better (internal) condition than one that has hardly turned a wheel in anger, relatively speaking. Obviously, the exterior condition, service history and compliance with recalls will be strong deciding factors - but don't necessarily be put off by 'high' mileage.

Cheers

Richard

Morning Daxamundo

That is difficult call given the very limited information you have about bike condition, maintenance, & other major factors.

All 3 of those bikes-- 06, 07, 08 CAN be very good bikes & have no latent issues.