IGNORED

Snap-on

chrisd

Can someone explain the Snap-on phenomenon? I have often wondered about it, and can't figure it out.

A set of 13 Snap-on 1/4" metric sockets, two extensions, a universal and a ratchet goes for $361.35 on the Snap-on store site.

A set of 17 Craftsman 1/4" metric sockets, two extensions, a nut driver and a ratchet goes for $67.50.

I worked as a civilian machinist maintaining Navy submarines for 20 years using Craftsman tools I bought, and I can't understand how I could possibly have done a better job using tools that cost 5-6 times as much. And I can't remember returning a Craftsman tool for a replacement during that time.

How does Snap-on pull this off? It's remarkable, and people are obviously paying their prices.

Anyone?

The truck visits shops and mechanics on a regular basis.

The dealer offers tools and boxes on credit.

The company has (or used to have) good quality tools which are backed by the local dealer.

The tools cost much more than other brands.

Status more than anything else drives the product.

Some mechanics use MAC or Craftsman.

I personally like their combination wrenches and how they feel in my hand.

MB>

I can understand that you like their combination wrenches.

But imagine that Snap-on did not exist, and you wanted to compete with Craftsman in the hand tool arena.

How do you sell investors on the notion that although you cannot demonstrate that your tools are "better", you will sell them for 5-6 times the price of Craftsman tools?

Basically, how do you sell snake oil in the modern, wired, era?

I can understand that you like their combination wrenches.

But imagine that Snap-on did not exist, and you wanted to compete with Craftsman in the hand tool arena.

How do you sell investors on the notion that although you cannot demonstrate that your tools are "better", you will sell them for 5-6 times the price of Craftsman tools?

Basically, how do you sell snake oil in the modern, wired, era?