IGNORED

seat comforte

tekslk

Im new to bmw and got a 99 r1100rt last fall. It had a wore out corbin seat on it that didn't suit me so I bought a sergent seat. When I ride my ass gets sore after 10-12miles is that just me or are all bmws that way. Love the bike hate the seat. Are there any options?

You can try the Alaska leather buttpad for a relatively cheap fix.

http://alaskaleather.com/collections/sheepskin-buttpads

Or, the more expensive custom built seat from Russell. My opinion only, if you can't get comfortable on a Russell, it may be impossible to get comfortable on this motorcycle.

https://www.day-long.com/gallery_BMW.html

Sometimes you need to take a little time to break in the seat (your Sargent) to your butt or butt to the seat. Can be painful either way. :grin:

Pat

A sore butt after such a short distance is really unusual. Before you start looking for another seat you need to zero in on what is causing the problem.

Lots of riders curse the stock seats from BMW (or almost any manufacturer) but we are all so different that no set conclusions can be drawn. I rode for years and over 125,000 miles on the stock seat on my R1100RT. Among those miles were many 1,000 mile days. Don't get me wrong, after 800 miles in the saddle I wasn't going to be as comfortable as sitting in a recliner, but I had no problem to keep riding until I reached my destination. Other riders would be in pain on the same seat after a couple hundred miles.

Does the Sargent have "wings"? Are you sliding forward and putting pressure on your crotch? Tailbone the issue?

The more information you provide the better for getting useful suggestions.