IGNORED

Advanced Riding School Recommendations

aggieengineer

aggieengineer

I'd like to improve my riding skills, strictly to increase safety. I've been riding on the street for 40 years now, so I'm not a novice, but would like to be more comfortable maneuvering near the limits one might encounter, such as trying to avoid cars or wildlife in a blind curve. I'm not looking to learn how to ride faster, just more competently. I don't need to learn how to squirm off the seat like a contortionist to impress anyone with my knee-dragging prowess.

Rental equipment would also be a necessity. I'll travel wherever I need to, but don't want to flog my own RT in a training environment. Does such a school exist?

russell_bynum

Yes, absolutely.

First...don't write off the track schools like the Superbike School. The majority of the skills are directly transferable to normal street riding and the same technique that will let you go faster and impress all the chicks with your knee-dragging shenanigans, will let you ride your normal speed with a much larger safety margin. You can definitely rent bikes at the California Superbike School (BMW S1000RR)

You could also check out Streetmasters (http://www.streetmasters.info/) which does training classes at a track, but with a street-specific focus and street-specific skidpad drills. Most people ride their own bikes, but you may be able to source a rental to use instead. I'm not sure.

The MSF's ERC would be a good one as well...though it's still pretty basic.

Edit: If you do a track school...be sure it's actually a school and not just a trackday that offers some informal instruction. Usually the instructors there are just friends of the organizer who are doing instruction in exchange for free track time. Sometimes they're good, sometimes not. You're looking for a real school with curriculum...well vetted instructors, etc.