IGNORED

Moving from a C...

Mdcruiser

Hi all. I am a newbie to this list, but not a new rider. I own a 2003 R1200C Montana, and have put 11,500 miles on it in 2 years (one very long solo trip each year, plus miscellaneous solo rides and commuting).

I am seduced by the new R12RT, and thinking of making the move. The fairing will provide much better weather protection than the Montana, the weight is actually lower than my Cruiser, and the heated seat option will warm my butt in cold weather.

Has anyone else made the move from an R12C to the R12RT? How did you find the shift? I should note that I am about 5'6, 29 inch inseam, and cannot quite flat-foot with the low seat option. Does anyone else have this issue, and if so how does that affect you for urban riding?

Thanks to all for reading this post.

Cheers,

Michael

had an '03 montana and traded for an '04 1150RT, for many of the same reasons you mentioned. was on the RT for 30 sec's and knew i was getting it. from what i hear the 1200RT is different/better in many respects. bottomline...you won't regret it. also, i have a 30" inseam and can't quite flat foot the '04, but have nto had any problems related ot that.

I moved from a 2000 R1200C Montana to the R1200RT. I am 5'9" and have a 29" inseam. I got the low seat option on the RT because of my short legs. I can't flat foot the RT, but I am on the balls of my feet. At stops, I usually balance with my left foot flat on the ground and my right foot on the brake, as I was taught in the MSF class.

You will not regret the move to the RT. The R1200RT is a fantastic bike! It has more torque, more overall power, better weather protection and better fuel economy that the R1200C.