IGNORED

Hiking boots - why not???

velomoto

I'm looking at purchasing a pair of top quality water proof (Goretex) hiking boots for the purpose of hiking -BUT- I'd also like to be able to use these for riding. After searching the old posts I've found concerns that hiking boots don't provide the same (adequate?) support and protection as good riding boots. Can anyone with experience with both hiking and riding boots please comment?

Also, do most people ride with steel toe shoes? I've had lots of work related experience with steel-toe shoes but have never found any which truely were comfortable.

Thanks in advance, clap.gif

Greg

I ride with hiking boots. Mine are the ASOLO.

I bought them at SportMart for 175.00 and find them to be a great riding boot. They cover the ankle and are a lace up type. I find little difference in them `VS` a so called riding boot. The only other boots that I have that would offer more protection are my Alpine Stars SMX Boots.

I come from the day of if it feels good... do it. I say right on. I have a pair of gortex Wolverines, with Thinsalate... toasty and warm. I wear these when the temp gets below 30. Narry a worry about what the nay sayers think... On the back of my old helmet there is a sticker that reads 'DILLIGAF' My old Harley buddies got used to me just pointing at it and smiling.. thumbsup.gif

ShovelStrokeEd

Quality hiking boots offer a lot of features that are similar to riding boots in re ankle support and protection. They fail in shin protection and, in the case of the upper end riding boots, torque protection and achilles tendon protection. Sure, they tend to be a lot more comfortable when walking than a true riding boot. Such is their design. For me, riding=riding boot, walking-walking boot. Of course, I am the recipient of the greater northeast Emelda Marcos award so my perspective might be skewed.

If you never crash, it won't be of much import. Care to bet your ability to walk on it?