IGNORED

Intimidating Brake Bleed

Yeeha! Stephen

Yeeha! Stephen

The local BMW Guru showed me, up close and personal, the scary Linked Brake Wheel Circuit/Control Circuit bleed at a local Tech Day yesterday.

Why was I so intimidated? After seeing it first hand, it's not scarey. In fact, except for being a little time consuming, it's easy. Even more so when you do the Wheel Circuits cause the Servos help out.

I'm not a mechanical dummy. I've been into the deep dark hidden passages of internal combustion-dom. So why does working on a "BMW" spook me so much?

It took me for ever to start doing my own services I've known how to do valves, etc... for years. Even the type the Oilhead has. Other bikes have em'. For goodness sake, I've even done valves on a Shim Under set up before, where pulling the cams is required.

Something about this bike...

Think, maybe, it's because this RT is my first ever BMW? Am I still under a Spell from the legendary Motorad?

Hmmmmmmm...

Well, that was one hurdle. Now on to the SPLINES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

(No, mine don't need it yet. I was just being dramatic grin.gif )

I have to agree is was intimidating. Or more along the lines of it took a long time and was very involved. I have to admit I was learning to appriciate my older 99 RT1100 because my brake flush took about 20 minutes vs 2 hours.

I just finished my 12K service and replaced the fuel filter on my '04 GS, but had decided to leave the servo ABS brake bleed to BMW shop. I have begun to have the urge to do it myself after reading "How To" on ADVRIDER Hall of Wisdom. Any pointers you might pass along?

I have done it a couple times now, and find that other than replacing all the bleeders with Speed bleeders, it is a fairly simple task that takes a couple hours, and isn't all that difficult.

The second time, when the bleeders are already in place, should only take an hour or so. Depending on how much tupperware needs to come off.

Jim cool.gif