IGNORED

Belstaff Discovery jacket

Mike_Thompson

Mike_Thompson

Last October I started looking around for a jacket to replace the one that I had sold when I moved to Singapore. Upon returning, I started riding my buddy’s other bike and needed a replacement. Looking at some of the other alternative such as BMW gear and the infamous Darien jacket, I needed something that is practical, useful, warm, waterproof, etc and doesn’t cost an arm and a leg. The Belstaff Discovery jacket is a winner for me. Everyone has a different opinion about jackets and you’re just lucky enough to read my opinion.

I was “lucky” enough to give the jacket a full test yesterday as we went for a ride and got caught in a freakish winter rain storm. Of course, we were in the mountains so I guess we shouldn’t have been too surprised. The jacket was very warm and very waterproof. The additional neck covering was a very welcome addition to the cold air that turned frigid as the day continued. I hadn’t expected the temperature to drop again after the cold front had moved through, but it seems to have been a good test day. I was riding a naked bike without a windshield and it was fuh-reezing! The jacket kept me nice and warm and made me realized that I didn’t miss the Gerbing that much. I’d rather have the Gerbing, but given the circumstances… I was still okay.

By the time I got home, my fingers, toes, legs, knees, and… um… boys, were rather chilled. I had to tell my wife I had been in the pool for a while to which I received a raised eyebrow. My upper body was doing just fine and made me very glad that I had made the investment. The rain we ran into chilled my buddy to the bone and we had to stop and pick him up some other garments to add extra layers of insulation due to his 3 layers not being quite sufficient.

If you’re looking for a good jacket that doesn’t cost a mortgage payment… this one will do.

Thanks,

MT

ShovelStrokeEd