IGNORED

Chicago Sun-Times fires it's photographers

Roadwolf

As an Art Director/graphic designer, I lament these kind of stories

http://www.startribune.com/nation/209536281.html

And on another forum I saw this, which pretty much sums it up:

"The person who made the decision to fire the entire department of staff photographers is completely lacking in their knowledge of photography.

Complete and utter ignorance.

Cameras don't take pictures. People take pictures. And the quality of those pictures is dependent on the talent, skill and experience of the photographer.

Henri-Cartier Bresson could out shoot 99% of the world population with an iPhone, but even when equipped with the best DSLR on the planet, 99% of photographers could not accomplish what he could with the worst of equipment.

It's not about the gear. It's about who's taking the pictures.

But then again we now live is a world where unfortunately 'good enough' is the accepted norm.

This is disgusting and a perfect example of corporate bottom line thinking at it's worst. It's thinking like this that is ruining the country."

As an Art Director/graphic designer, I lament these kind of stories

http://www.startribune.com/nation/209536281.html

And on another forum I saw this, which pretty much sums it up:

"The person who made the decision to fire the entire department of staff photographers is completely lacking in their knowledge of photography.

Complete and utter ignorance.

Cameras don't take pictures. People take pictures. And the quality of those pictures is dependent on the talent, skill and experience of the photographer.

Henri-Cartier Bresson could out shoot 99% of the world population with an iPhone, but even when equipped with the best DSLR on the planet, 99% of photographers could not accomplish what he could with the worst of equipment.

It's not about the gear. It's about who's taking the pictures.