IGNORED

Garmin XM radio and WX.

jakfrost

I have deceided to buy the Garmin 376c to replace the 276c I sold to a friend and have a couple of questions someone out there may be able to help with...

I would like the XM radio subscription of course, since the new RT doesn't have any radio at this time.

AND I would like to try the WX service to see if it is something I could find useful up here in Canada , and of course for my trips south of the border...

My questions are...does anyone know if you can 'bundle' a subscription, i.e., radio and WX package.

AND, I would like to use the 'Aviator LT' package since I am a pilot and the Metars and Taf's are handy for me. Will the 'Aviator LT' subscription work in a standard 376c?, or does it have to be the 'aviation version' of the 376c... ($2,500.00 U.S. crazy.gif ).

I couldn't find the answere to my questions at the XM site or Garmin, and its too late to call... so I'm guessing there is no 'bundle' and hoping I don't need to take the 'Fisherman' package instead of the 'Aviator'...

Anyone been thru this already??

Jim

Jim,

I believe you would want the 396, which is the aviation version of the marine 376. The 376 does not have Metar, TAF's or winds aloft needs - the 396 clearly does.

As to bundling, there isn't a bundle, per se, but you might be able to get them to waive the setup on the XM or XM Weather or both. I already had an XM subscription, so the XM was cheaper at $6.99, and I did get them to waive the weather subscription setup fee.

Yes you are correct, I 'miss-typed' 376 instead 396 when I meant the aviation version...I have looked at the aviation packages from XM, and the 'aviator LT' would be my first choice for a WX subscription, as opposed to the marine 'fisherman' or whatever...

So has anyone got an aviation WX sub. running on their Garmin 376? I for sure can't afford the '396' for the bike...