IGNORED

Buying my first BMW

Sickticket

I have owned Yamaha's and Honda's before but I can now afford quality. I am planning on picking up a 2013 R1200RT and here is what is happening. I will be riding to work on a daily basis and I work second shift. My commute will be 52 miles daily and half of that will be in the dark in Bambi country.

For daytime riding I am looking at adding the "Pathfinder" headlight moderator. Do any of you have any experience with this, what are your impressions and is there something better on the market??

Also, I really need you expert opinion on adding mucho brightness to my night driving. I currently have a 4Runner with wonderful highbeams that really carry. I am rarely surprized. What can I add to my RT to get such great coverage??

Thank you in advance.

Sickticket

Hello Sickticket,

I am doing much the same as you describe. I am a 2nd shift aircraft mechanic and commute daily in southern MD on an 06 RT pretty much year round. I routinely am dodging bucks and does?

My last bike was a Kawi Concours terrible headlight I added a 100 watts of Hella driving lights. People were not happy when I turned them on but they did the job. I personally find the RT OEM lights to be very good. My model has 2 headlight H5 bulbs and a 3rd one as a highbeam. I know many people add high end driving lights too. I find it not necessary in my case. Enjoy the ride.

Best of Luck you.

Danny caddyshack Noonan

With the Camhead RT, you already have excellent lights out of the box. I suggest a couple of conspicuity lights near the height of the front wheel just for people to see you.

For the night ride, these mounts will let you hang many things. mount

I like mondomotos.com bullet LED (MM10?) since it fills in a lot of territory with it's not a flood, not a spot pattern.