IGNORED

Home heating system antifreeze?

mikeR1100R

With our week-long cold snap here in CT last week I had a pipe which supplied the upstairs baseboard radiators freeze. It thawed luckily with no damage and heat was restored in less than a day. I do not know where the pipe froze although I suspect it was in the "stylish" overhang where our master bath juts out over the deck.

I have heard that the addition of a propylene glycol-based antifreeze can prevent this from occurring. Has anyone here ever done this? How hard is it to do yourself? I have a rudimentary understanding of oil-fired hot water baseboard heating systems and have done basic plumbing repairs and installations. Internet has not been too helpful but maybe I have not looked in the right place.

I've never heard of anybody ever adding a glycol base additive to a home heating system but then,I'm no heating professional either.

First thing that came to my mind was insulation or lack of....

The company I work for in Tolland CT uses ground source heat pumps for all heating and cooling. They use the non-toxic propylene as the medium to transfer ground temps to the heat pumps. I'd say to look up heating contractors who work with ground source heat pumps.

All kinds of tech fixes ranging from plastic pipes, heat from anything from light bulbs to heat wires (like those used to prevent roof ice dams), smart thermostat systems, draining, keeping the water running, re-routing pipes, and conducting/isolating heat by canny use of copper or iron pipes (depending).

Insulation is tricky because it doesn't make heat and shouldn't be relied on unless you've thought-through the heat flows you are working with.