IGNORED

Dreamliner Batteries

markgoodrich

Is it simply that the batteries have a narrow charge range? Too much and they leak or smoke or burn? Too little and things shut down? If so, is it "just" a software issue?

Or did BMW design the batteries? :wave:

There's alot to this and I would look to a more technical report to see what's going on. Reading the NY Times report today on it was quite frustrating as it was technically vague or outright wrong. I'm very curious what the inspectors are going to find. I agree with Boeing that a switch to newer battery tech was mandatory if any serious weight and efficiency savings were to be realized, but I wonder WHAT TYPE of batteries these really are. There are dozens of variations of Lithium Ion batteries.

To me, the safest bet (and I'm NOT an engineer so take this with a grain of salt) would be the LiFePO4 type cell. Yes, this is the same type of cell now available for Powersports applications (think Shorai batteries for your motorcycle, for instance - surely you've seen that by now). These are safer, lighter, smaller, and more efficient BY FAR compared to lead acid AND compared to many, if not most, other Li-Ion based cells.

I wonder what Dreamliner used. I am waiting for the facts before commenting.

-MKL

PS = The POS Exide crap battery in my RT died last month. Just shy of 36 months in use. So pathetic. I replaced it with an Enersys cell from work. It'll be good for a decade now, at least.

-MKL

Precisely. LiFePO4 is about 1/3 the weight of lead. Lasts twice as long. Has a wider operating and storage temp range. Is less toxic to dispose of. And so on, and so forth. Time to abandon the abacus in favor of a calculator, in other words.

-MKL

Bob , the newer batteries, as I understand it, save a lot of weight, one of the reasons Boeing went with Lithium Ion.

What about space requirements?

Aren't these batteries physically smaller?

If so then replacing them with old school would not be an option.