IGNORED

2004 1150RT - Stupid rider, ABS, ???

autobahnracing28

autobahnracing28

Hello to everyone on this site. I have been lurking for some time now and after an incident last weekend thought I would join the discussion.

Background - I am a long time rider, various Japanese bikes, with a history of road course racing and some motocross. I am new to BMW cruisers and ABS braking. I purchased this bike about a year ago so my wife could ride comfortably with me and we have enjoyed some nice rides.

Last weekend we were coming over the top of a hill, looking into the setting sun, into a downhill, posted 15 mph, left-hand corner. As I let off the throttle to downshift and brake the rear tire momentarily locked up before I pulled the clutch in. As I transitioned to braking I had virtually nothing except, I assume, a whirring sound from the ABS. We went off at mid-corner, about 25-30 mph, and I was able to keep it on the wheels as we went down a bank into a field and then back up onto the road.

Further investigation revealed that we had encountered a diesel fuel spill that I was unable to see due to looking into the setting sun. Supposition and observation of subsequent corners suggest that a big-rig we had met just prior to the incident had probably left his fuel cap off and was sloshing fuel out as he went around corners.

My riding experience tells me that I should have been able, even with the slick condition, to brake and slow enough to negotiate the corner. I feel as though the ABS caused a dangerous situation to become far worse.

I would welcome all thoughts and certainly don't mind any criticism.

Randy

autobahnracing28
I'm lost on what actually happened...were you leaned into a turn, slam on the brakes and the ABS kicked in?

It all happened before I had a chance to lean into the corner...bike was straght up.