IGNORED

Safe Pasenger Riding Age

Kevin-RT1150

Kevin-RT1150

I started riding " "Mini-Bikes" and Schwins with Lawn Mowers like at 8 years old. Well then I got married, got a house, ten two girls and then surgically 3 years before my oldest was going to start college and knew I needed to strike before I would be to old to get back in the saddle. So my girls were 11 and 16 and took them out from time to time and not with much interest on their part. I'm on my second RT and my oldest gave me a Grandson 2 years ago. He is a natural MotorHead. At two he can name every car or bike by make and model that goes by. He knows the Make and Model of all of Friend and Families car. It kind of crazy. Anyway, he loves bikes and he loves helping me work with me on mine. I've done more work on my '02 this summer then I have since I bought it in '05. At at the point I'm starting to make things up to work on so we can play.

Anyway, he loves starting it up and rev'ing her up. He sits in the saddle with such a natural balance.

My question is I can't wait to take him for a ride. I know it will be a huge debate with: My daughter, My Son-In-Law and his Grandmother. What is the youngest anyone has taken someone for a ride? Are there any laws?

Just had a crazy idea. Going to put strap his car seat to the bike and puts some pictures up on FaceBook and see how the Family reacts!!

But seriously, how many more years do I need to wait. Love to hear other peoples opinions and understand the Law, if any?

In the UK and most of Europe, the legal requirement is that both feet must reach the footrests - which need not be the original equipment.

My boys rode behind me from about 10 years old - when they could reach the OEM footrests and understood the need to hold on and sit still.

Andy

my son has been riding with me since age 4

And is a great passenger who has moved into riding his own mc's, Matt did a fantastic job and wiil have great advice.