IGNORED

R1200RT First Service

JIM'SK

What are you guys experiencing for the co$t of your first (600 mile) service? Is there a list of the things the dealers are supposed to do at 600? The owners manual is short on detail.

Thanks,

Jim Merrell

Canton, OH

storman113

I had quotes of 175 to 375! Guess which one I chose! Changed all fluids and check bolt torques. For the 6000 I'll change the oil/filter myself and have the dealer do the valve check.

99Roadster

Jim,

It varies depending on the dealer. Although I have no personal experience with them, I would recommend Mathias which is probably closest to you anyway.

Good luck.

I have used Mathias off and on for years, although I did not buy this bike there. Kinda would like to use the dealer I bought from for the first service then switch to a combination of do it myself and Mathias.

Thanks,

Jim

dirtdreamer50

Just spoke with my two local dealers and they were both charging $325 to $375 for the service. Other than an O/F change, one said that they check for fault codes and adjust the alternator belt. The other said that they check for fault codes, sync T/B's, and replace FD fluid and that the alternator belt check isn't needed until at least the 6k service. Personally, I think almost $400 to do an O/F change is kinda high. Found out that camhead heads don't need torquing and the first valve clearance check isn't needed until the 12/24k service. Was told that valves may be checked at 6k but they haven't had to make a shim change until the 12 or 24k service.

Afternoon dirtdreamer50

You might want to stay far away from that dealer that says they ADJUST the alternator belt. Definitely a glass of smoke as the alternator is fixed in position on the hexhead/camhead & is NON ADJUSTABLE.

dirtdreamer50
Afternoon dirtdreamer50