IGNORED

Steering characteristics

ChrisHvelplund

ChrisHvelplund

As many of you presumably already know, the R1100RS takes a rather powerful hand to manoeuvre. It is great for going straight, but turning is difficult. It need to be tilted rather heavily. In my very subjective opinion R1100R is much easier to handle. I have no experience with the RT.

Furthermore I have replaced the original low “clip-on” handlebars with the RT-ones. Se picture:

R1100RS.jpg

This has worsened the situation because, I suppose, the combined centre of gravity has raised.

The solution to this problem, as I see it, is to decrease the steering assembly angle. On RS and S with their relative low handlebars it is 65.9 and 65° respectively, and on R and RT with high handlebars it is 63 and 62.8°.

The question is whether this is possible or not. When I look in the Parts Fiche for front steering and suspension, most parts seems to be the same for all models. Part numbers are the same. Except for Lower fork cross brace and Upper fork cross brace, the only difference seems to be the Trailing arm.

Is there anyone here who can spot a problem that would prevent that I replace the Trailing arm to a RT-one?

As many of you presumably already know, the R1100RS takes a rather powerful hand to manoeuvre. It is great for going straight, but turning is difficult. It need to be tilted rather heavily.

Umm....no.

First off, welcome to the board. Back to the quoted statement. I have never ridden a BMW that requires a powerful hand to direct. The worst of the lot are the big K bikes due to their wheelbase, but even those handle incredibly light once they are moving. Sounds to me like you are fighting the bike into corners versus counter steering and letting the bike do what it was designed to do. If that is the case, I would suggest you should be investigating some proper riding instruction instead of trying to modify the bike.