IGNORED

iABS question

Hedgry

I read Affordable Beemer's less than flattering thoughts on the evolution of BMW motorcycles. http://www.affordablebeemerservices.com/bmwthoughts/

Unfortunately, it seems like his points are well founded regarding the corporate culture of BMW's motorcycle division and resulting quality control issues. And it sounds like he has a leg to stand on with his experience in the industry. I'm new to BMW as of 2010. I absolutely love my '04 R1150RT. I also read this forum just about every day and I do have my apprehensions about some of the much talked about known issues on these bikes; clutch spline failure, FD failure, ABS module failure to name a few of the more serious ones. My bike had 4000 miles on it when I bought it. I'm now approaching 20,000 trouble free miles.

I personally really like the iABS brakes on the bike. All throughout every riding season I practice low speed maneuvering and panic braking and have become very comfortable with the unique characteristics of this system. I like them better than my Wee's conventional brakes which feel kinda puny after riding the RT-as in it requires a lot more effort to get the same braking effect (and yes, the Wee's brakes are up to snuff). The most time consuming part of the brake flush maintenance is removing and reinstalling all the plastic but I've done that enough times now that I can have those panel off and back on in minutes. So I don't really see the added maintenance as a deal breaker. There are affordable options out there too, such as running take outs, the alleged rebuilding service recently talked about and the module bypass.