IGNORED

Helmet Advice?

gmarktbone

gmarktbone

OK, I know I'm opening a can of worms, but here is my situation. I have been riding for 7 years. I have gone through three HJC helmets (one 3/4 helmet, and two full-face CL15). I would like to move up the food chain so to speak and go to a nicer helmet by a more "high-end" manufacturer like Shoei, Arai, or Schuberth. I tell myself that if I spend 3x the price of the HJC helmets, it will be better, but I have no way of knowing if that will be true. I tried a Shoei RF1100 and I like the way it fits, but there are more helmets on the market than Carter has liver pills. So, here goes...Is there a difference betw HJC 120.00 helmets and other brands' 400.00 helmets? If so, what is the difference?

Could totally hose this up but didn't Motorcyclist magazine did a test on several helmets in 2005. The results were not kind to expensive helmets and they lost a bit of marketing. Of course that's if you put stock in a magazine testing helmets (or contracting it out). The Shoei RF1100 is pretty high-end, at least for me. Considered it but don't have a Shoei head. I have a Nolan head and like that hat (N100 & N103) a lot. I think that's what really counts, a hat that meets some measurable standard and fits well enough that you like to wear it properly. Well, of course that doesn't count those little beanies.

Currently I have the 2 Nolans, an HJC SyMax, and a Jarrow MonoX2

I haven't owned too many helmets myself, so take it for what it's worth....

I was always told to go in to several stores, try on a variety of helmets, and then buy the one that seems to fit the best. And don't look at the price tag. Personally, I look at the price tag. I like a nicer helmet, but I don't have money to throw away.