New to BMW Bikes

Caerleon

Hi all,

I was hoping to get some advice on my stead. I'm new to BMW bikes and have been doing alot of research on the 'tinkering' that is required, to prove this point i went into my local nationwide motor parts seller and asked for some Feeler Gauges - the guy looked at me with a blank expression and said "Never heard of them? Want a bag of spirit level bubbles instead" I had to laugh as i remember that one from my apprentice days.

This bike has 24k on the clock and is an old Met Police bike. I also have inside knowledge of what happended to the bike, where it was based and even someone i knew who rode it. I picked it up from a private seller and noticed a few problems with it. It accelerates extremely well! But it doesn't corner, i put that down to over inflated tyres looking at the wear on them, reduced the pressure and the back of the bike still steps out - i will replace all the tyres.It maybe due to the uprated suspension, so its not carrying as much weight as it used too. The front fork travel is about 3-4 inches which is a concern, i think the front shock is gone or i need to replace the fork oil for a thicker viscosity.

The other issue i noticed is a the clunky and very noisey gearbox. When i engage second gear i hear a very loud tin rattle, engage 3rd and it's gone and replaced with a motorsport sounding acceleration whine. All other gears sound fine. Does anyone know what could be causing this?