IGNORED

Garmin 2620 GPS Question

Catbird

A year or so ago, I bought a 2620 instead of a 2610 because I thought it would be easier to use since ALL mapping information is preloaded at the factory (no PC required). 99% of the time, this GPS is used in one of the cars and works extremely well.

QUESTION:

Since the 2620 uses a hard drive, I've heard that it's much more sensitive to vibration/bumps and it's probably not wise to try to use it on my R1200RT. Does anyone have definite information on this? I'm not too keen on investing in a high-dollar GPS mount for my bike, if operation of the 2620 will be problematic.

Calvin  (no socks)

I've been using a 2620 for the last 2 years. On 4 different bikes the custom mounts would cost me more than the unit... I use the $12.00 mount that came with it and ordered one for each bike... I can afford that! grin.gif

No ill effects yet, and over 30 k miles on unit...

ClearwaterBMW

catbird

you own a very good gps

while folks have spoken about this issue ad nauseum all over the 'net... there have been no REAL reports of a failure of the memory system based on vibration

Garmin really has no true position on this

the RT is a fairly smooth ride... i wouldn't use it on my GS when/if i go off-road

but on your RT, there really shouldn't be any problem

enjoy.... you own one of the best

greg