IGNORED

I need a new battery

Bear1

After 4 years of wondeful riding, the battery on my '02RT has finally given out and I need a replacement. Someone suggested an Oddessy PC680 battery as a replacement, but I cannot see on the Oddessy Battery website where this battery is listed as a replacement for my bike.

So the question for this group is this: Is the Oddessy PC680 the correct replacement battery for my '02RT and are there any issues I need to be aware of when instaling the battery?

I second the recommendation for the Odyssey. Look for them on eBay at $63.94 + $14 S&H. They are shipped charged and ready to install.

The only drawback is that the terminals are not exacly like in the standard battery. The Odyssey will fit better if you get/make a small angle bracket for the negative lead, but it is not strictly necessary. Go for it!

Bear1,

You'll find a lot of folks using this battery too:

I've been using Panasonic AGM/SLA batteries since about 1995 and just replace them every 4 years.

LC-X1220P from Digikey.com is only $44.68 with free shipping.

Send in your check with the order. Fits all R1100RT/R1150RT.

Matter of fact, I just ordered a new Panasonic for my '96 RT. I checked and the battery in there is is just past 4 years old so I ordered one. I'm doing a little trip the end of the month and I HATE having battery problems away from home.

Mick

I have the Odyssey in my 02 1150RT and 93 K75. When mounting in the 1150RT I did not have need for a small "L" bracket for mounting, I just mounted the battery on it's side with the posts facing the left side of the bike, easy to attach cables without an "L" bracket. Yes it is safe to mount the battery on it's side, will not affect it. Try doing this with your lead/acid battery, JUST KIDDING, DO NOT try this with a lead/adic battery. RonP

I second the recommendation for the Odyssey. Look for them on eBay at $63.94 + $14 S&H. They are shipped charged and ready to install.