IGNORED

2000 r1100rt sat for three years..

scottnew

Hello to all.. I'm new to this so please excuse my lack of knowledge.. Simply put, I have taken over a project that sat for three years. One year outside and two inside.. My first challenge was getting the cam chain guide bolt back into place. The owner before me thought he was removing the oil plug.. With it now in place I have pulled the plugs, drained the fuel and changed the oil. I was able to turn it over several times with ease via no spark plugs.. Does anyone have any input on what I should do next before trying to start it with the plugs in for the first time.. Oh, and I've already gone through the air intake, cleaned it up and made sure no critters were vacationing within it.. Any and all input is greatly appreciated..

Before getting it started, I would check for a good spark and also spray at the injectors :thumbsup:

If it starts, great. But if it doesn't or even if it does, do a search on HES, as you may (or will!) experience this issue given the age and storage conditions.

Three years isn't too bad. Once it starts, but before you ride it, change the tranny & FD fluids as well. Give the tires a hard look also, checking for signs of dry rot.

I will check that for sure.. Having never pulled injectors on it, is it my best bet to pull them and set in a container with the hoses stall attached? I would guess I could then turn the key on and the fuel pump should begin to force petrol through them.. Thanks a million for the input.. I'm so excited to see this thing, hopefully run that I can hardly stand it.. All I need is some sign of life and I'll be head over heels to get it on the road.. ;-)