IGNORED

'96 RT Oil Leak - Help ID

dgrooman

I am new to the BMW motorcylcing world (only had mine for about a year) and new to cycling in general (guess its been about 3 years since my first ride), so please excuse this question if it's supposedly obvious to others.

Question: I have an oil leak on my '96 R1100RT that appears it may be coming from the oil sight gauge or at least from that general vicinity. Are there any known issues with leaks on this side of the engine and what may be the fixes?

Here is a link with a few pics: http://pulse.yahoo.com/_VCFOJNQDLZ77PAG2VG4VVDQ2NY/album/albums/631611/detail/page/1

Thanks in advance for any help or guidance.

Witch_Doctor

I would suggest cleaning the oil off the bike, and get it as dry as possible. Once you do that, you can better determine where the leak is coming from. The sight glasses are known to weep when they get older, the rubber seal gets hard and leaks. Its an easy and inexpensive replacement.

Given the vintage of your bike, the sight glass would be high on my list of things to check and replace. To check, wipe away any excess oil around the sight glass really well. Go for a ride of about 100 miles to get things circulating.

Now, check to see if the sight glass has any oil 'weeping' around it. If so, you've found your culprit.

Very easy replacement, too. Takes less than 5 minutes.

Here's a link to the replacement video:

Sight glass replacement

I have an oil leak on my '96 R1100RT that appears it may be coming from the oil sight gauge or at least from that general vicinity. Are there any known issues with leaks on this side of the engine and what may be the fixes?

Hi Dgrooman, From your pictures you indeed look as though you have a weep from the sight-glass. These have been known to pop out (sometimes with catastrophic effect - losing oil the oil before you realise it).