IGNORED

Final Drive fluid change

New2Wheeler

New2Wheeler

I am new to wrenching on my '07 RT. I completed my 24k service last fall, and was very happy with how straight forward the bike was to work on. Unfortunately, I made a mistake... I used 75w150 fluid in the final drive instead of 75w90. Once I realized the error, about 6k later, I replace with the proper weight fluid. Being the obsessive person that I can be, I have now begun feeling the temperature of the final drive as I do my routine tire checks when stopping en route. Unfortunately I don't have a baseline to compare.... During a recent ride (ambient temp about 70F), interstate 70-80 mph, couple of hours, I could hold my hand on the final drive casing... was hot, let's say 130-140F. Anyone else check the temp of the final drive? What is normal?

thanks in advance.

I have never actually measured the temperature, but I have put my hand down there after a ride and 130ish sounds about right to me. It seems to vary with how aggressive I have been riding, and the ambient temperature of course.

You now have the right lube in there, so I think you're fine.

Jay

New2Wheeler

thanks Jay.

I see you are in Western NC. I'm in the middle of a relo to Columbia, SC. Really looking forward to being a couple hours from the BRM's. Not so excited about the interstates in Columbia (you know there is a problem with names like "malfunction junction" ha!!). But compared to our big city colleagues I'm sure there is no comparison.

Yes Matt, western NC is hard to beat for the sheer number and miles of great motorcycling roads. Feel free to contact me when you're in the area and I can show you some of my favorites. :Cool:

Jay

terryofperry

If you can keep your bare hand on it it should be running cool enough. I measured mine on several occassions with thermal imaging and it runs between 129 and 138 degrees, depending on how hard I rode and the ambient temperature.

Good practice to keep checking it with your hand.

Terry