IGNORED

How to mount Garmin on R1200RT?

macx

Howdy. Newbie here, picking up the bike Sat.

Going to Vegas for a 3 year construction job on a power plant

in a week or so, have been around that area a fair amount but

I know there's lots more neat Nat'l & State Parks in the area

I haven't seen yet.

I've got a Garmin - is there some type of mount that I could use

to put that on the RT? And I spose I need some type of adapter

to plug it in?

Thanks!

What type of Garmin? The Zumo's come with a motorcycle cradle to hold the GPS unit. If you do not have a Zumo it is a little more difficult. You will need find a cradle to hold the device. Mounting to your RT is easy. Search for Ram Mounts and locate it where you want. I have my Zumo above my clutch master cylinder.

Snowy.

I agree with starfighter. My Nav IV is locked into Touratech mount. Not that I don't trust my cousins across the pond! :thumbsup:

Go to the RAM Mounts site, input the specifics of your device and bike and it will put together a setup to do it. If you don't already have one, go to ebay and search for a hard wire cord for your model. You'll need to wire that to the battery or accessory fuseblock for power.

I found a Touratech locking mount on E-Bay CHEAP.. It was made for a particular bike brand so it has the bike name instead of Touratech on it.. I THINK it was KTM, I'd have to look when I get home to be sure.

R1200Rt already has power up at the steering head for the GPS you only need to buy an adaptor cable to use it. No extra wire runs, or CanBUS issues. A few places sell the cable think I got mine at CycleGadgets for about $12.

It's a Garmin model Nuvi 260W.

Thanks for all the tips!

Totally new to this bike

(not getting it till next week now, BMW sent it to the dealer but don't know for sure where it went or when it will get here (!)