IGNORED

The price of oil......

beemerboy

....has me wondering how much per gallon I'll be paying on my way out to and back from this year's Un. I'm thinking something in the $4/gal range, what say you? Also, has the sudden spike if gasoline prices caused you to rethink your '11 travel plans?

I think it's going to be closer to $4.50 - $5.00 around here (Chicago area). Our vehicles use premium, and that's already at $3.84/gallon at our nearby stations (93 octane).

I'm not too worried. Some of our savings are in a Natural Resources mutual fund (Fidelity FNARX). When oil/gas goes up, the fund goes up. It makes me more than what I spend extra on gas.

I'm not too worried. Some of our savings are in a Natural Resources mutual fund (Fidelity FNARX). When oil/gas goes up, the fund goes up. It makes me more than what I spend extra on gas.

I work in the energy business and stand to profit quite well from what's going on. In addition to that I own shares in many energy related companies and have already seen very nice gains in my holdings. That being said not everyone here enjoys this sort of largesse so this upheaval impacts them differently.

And now to do some research on FNARX......(thanks, Paul :grin:)

It would be nice if the consumer was able to buy gasoline at today's prices for tomorrows fillup. Something like 5,000 gallons on a investment or speculative market? Price goes up, you win, price goes down you lose.

I'd also like to see an emerging market in underground gas storage tanks for residential use. Put a lot of unemployed construction industry back to work. I bet getting a building permit for an underground tank might be a wee bit difficult though.

The way things are going in Libya, I'm not optimistic for summer driving. The cost of gas trickles down to all business who use gas..expect a price spike at your local grocery store soon.