IGNORED

Wheel Cleaning Questions

RT66Rider

OK, it's time to get the grime off of my wheels.

But I have a few questions.

Is it safe to use a power washer on these wheels ?

Is there a better solution to use aside from 'Simple Green' ?

When cleaning the front wheel, is it wise to remove the rotors ?

And if so, what are the torque specs for reassembly ?

TIA

A few pointers - (I am not an expert on cleaning though)

Power Washers are fine provided you do not direct them at the bearings - they can and do remove grease from them.

If you decide to remove the rotors, they are retained using green loctite (similar to red) and the fasteners must be heated to remove them. Lots of effort for regular cleaning, but probably worthwhile for a 'spring-clean' campaign to allow easier maintenance cleaning thereafter. Sorry, I do not have the torque figures to hand.

Andy

Michael,

First, please fill out your profile. We can't even tell what kind of bike you're talking about. If it is an R1200RT, the disc to front wheel torque is "initial torque: 12nm" and "final torque: 24nm" (from the BMW maintenance CD)

If you think you need to remove the wheel... there have been recent posts on that subject. Of course if we knew what bike you are talking about we could help you better.

Assuming you just want to clean the wheel with it still on the bike... all you need is some time and a good place to work. Get your chosen cleaning material and several rags and go for it. No, I am not trying to be a smart ass. That is all there is to it.

The paint on the wheel is not resistant to strong solvents nor will it stand much abrasive material. If you give the wheel a good soak with Simple Green and let it sit a while then go back and do the detail with several rags and a bucket of warm water it may turn out to be easier than you thought.