IGNORED

Why do we need to change brake fluid?

flying_monkey

flying_monkey

First, let me say that I'm new to BMWs, having my 04 R1150RT for just over 3 months. It's wintertime, too cold (for me, at least) to ride here in Reno, so I'll put my flame suit on, and ask something I've been wondering about. Why do we have to do this? Is changing the brake fluid required on BMW cars? I have a 15 year old truck with 100k on it, it has never needed to be changed. I've had many other motorcycles with hydraulic brakes that didn't recommend this. So why do only BMW motorcycles require this? Are these brakes substandard to cars or other bikes in some way?

Ed

The reason is that brake fluid hygroscopic meaning that it will absorb water, it does this as the brake fluid heats up and cools down(condensation from air drawn in around seals and threads). The color change in your brake fluid is caused by oxidation of the components in your brake system. removing the oxidized fluid is the reason to change, regardless of make model or type.

Some manufacturers figure that you my keep their products longer than others. I guess.

hope this helps.

As has been said, brake fluid absorbs water, reducing its boiling point and leading to corrosion of ferrous metal parts in the brake system. On the R1150xx bikes, the wheel circuits are vented to atmosphere and so absorbs more moisture than normal.

As for never changing fluid on other vehicles - most vehicles I have own do recommend it, just not as frequently. On my car for instance, the recommended interval is every three years.

Andy

Motorcycles do tend to get parked seasonally. The water will corrode the internals of expensive parts like the ABS unit, causing their pistons to seize. Rule of thumb is that if you use clear brake fluid, change it when it starts to look like the color of urine (morning, not after your 6th beer). ;)