IGNORED

A sad day of riding

swilson

This weekend I took my family camping at Oceano Dunes (Pismo) with my good friend of nearly 15 yrs and his family. I'm new to dirt bikes and was really excited to finally get a chance to ride with my buddy who has about 20 years experience riding in the dunes and has always impressed me with his riding & driving abilities. I've four wheeled with him for nearly 15 years and was pretty excite to finally join him on two. While our wives were watching the kids and playing on the beach looking for shells, my friend and I got our first chance to take the dirt bikes out just the two of us.

We had a great time riding. We'd find a great dune to jump stay there for a bit, and then head off to find a new dune. While in search of a new spot to jump I took the high road and was riding the ridge of a tall dune and my buddy was paralleling me just 50 feet to my left and 30 feet lower. While I had a smooth level route, his was up and down a series of 3 dunes that were perpendicular to the normal orientation of dunes. (parallel to the waterfront)

The last dune was only 30-40 feet tall, but had quite a peak to it. He came up to the top expecting to have some level sand to ride, but instead was surprised by the steep drop on the other side. Trying not to launch his bike, he chopped the throttle, and the the front wheel dove down the other side and was going to go end over end. He was only going about 10-15 mph. He dove away from the bike superman style trying to get away from the bike.

It was not a violent event and with the low speeds I wasn't even considering he could get hurt. I changed course to meet him at the bottom with a grin on my face ready to make fun and help him pick up the bike. Instead as I dropped down the face of the dune I found him screaming in pain.