IGNORED

Outlook computer question

Spyder

Is there an easier way to sync outlook files from a desktop to a laptop other than to export the .pst files to a zip drive and then import? It seems like there has to be a more efficient way. I have a wireless router set up if that helps.

Thanks folks.

Im not a computer expert but I did have a nice conversation with microsoft yesterday. Ill make it short. In June they will have

the new "Outlook 365" in the cloud with some other things that are being worked on. I hope this helps you in the future.

If you are set up on an Exchange or IMAP server and you are running Office 2003 or later, messages and calendars are cached locally, so there is no need to synch unless you don't have network access to one of the Outlook clients. Both my Iphone and two desktops are linked to the same email account and they all sync perfectly by themselves.

I also use the smartphone method (Blackberry), but my laptop is at work and the desktop at home. Also allows me to enter appointments & contacts on the phone and those to be synchronized.

There are a couple of software packages available, but they look pretty pricey for what they do.

Mike Cassidy

Just my two cents... I HATE client based computing, i.e Outlook... computer goes down and your often SOL.. versus WEB based, then who cares what computer your on; Log in and your good to go anywhere, anytime in the world.

and UBUNTU LINUX

Just my two cents... I HATE client based computing, i.e Outlook... computer goes down and your often SOL.. versus WEB based, then who cares what computer your on; Log in and your good to go anywhere, anytime in the world.

and UBUNTU LINUX

That is true, although most e-mail clients are more functional than their web based counterparts, and web email interfaces are nearly useless on smart phones. At the office, I use the Outlook client. Internationally, I use the Outlook web interface.