IGNORED

Computer requirements for digital photography

Caddis

I just picked up a new camera (Nikon D3100), and I would like to be able to do a little processing on the images. However, my computer is so old that it can't handle it.

So I am looking for suggestions on what things I should look for when I am shopping for a new one. I am a software developer, but I don't know a lot about hardware, and I am just getting started with the digital photography thing.

So are there some "must haves" that I should be aware of? For example, is there a minimum amount memory that you would recommend (I will probably use Lightroom 3, or something similar)? Is there any reason to favor one type of processor over another for this type of work? Is there anything special that I should look for in a monitor? Anything else?

Nice camera! I use Lightroom 3 and think it's fantastic software. You'll want to shoot in Raw (or jpg + raw) as you can really tailor the image using Lightroom if it's a Raw file.

My computer is an older model: an Intel Core 2 Duo 1.8Ghz with 4GB RAM and about 4TB of disk space :grin: Hey, I've taken a ton of photos with my D70s over the years! My processor, however, is way too slow for Lightroom. Fortunately, pretty much any computer you buy today will be more than powerful enough for processing photos in Lightroom. My priorities for my next system are as follows:

- 8 GB RAM

- Quad Core Processor (I like AMD, so I'd get their Phenom X4 or X6 at near or above 3Ghz)

- Decent Nvidia or ATI graphics card

- Lots of disk space (and maybe an external drive for photo backups)

One might think my next system is over powered for this purpose, but have you ever exported Raw, edited images in Lightroom to jpg files? It takes all day and renders the computer pretty much useless as the CPU's peg the redline and gigabytes of RAM are consumed.