IGNORED

K1300GT Farkles

Francis

I just purchased a 2009 K1300GT and traded off my 1150RT. I'm new to the GT and excited at the riding potential ahead.

I'd like to add a Steibel air horn, moto lights down low and driving lights up top (I have discovered Jimmy brackets from Denver BMW)

I'd appreciate any recommendations for the driving lights and any available "how to's" on the other items. Any other recommendations, maintenance issues/items and comfort tips would be appreciated (I have purchased a set of peg lowering bars as I am 6'3" and understnd these are helpful. I have the oil change and rear end fluid change articles from BMWON).

I am also interested in the repair manual or repair-CD for this bike.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Francis

Here

Here

I have quite a few farkles sitting around as mine is now GONE - Bar risers, Ztechnik screen, GPS mount, color matched top case in red with key cylinder, and some other stuff. If there is anything I can do to help you let me know.

Enjoy your new ride and remember that the cruise control was added for only one purpose, to keep you from getting too many speeding tickets. Without it, you will find yourself going very fast!

Francis,

Glad to see you found some peg lowers. They will make a great improvement and you will quickly adapt to the different pedal orientation. I would grab Phil's bar risers and Ztechnik. I had both on my old K13GT and they add comfort for taller riders. You may also want to consider a better seat as most riders find the stock one sucks. Lots of debate of which seat is better -- search the archives here and on K-bikes.com and I-BMW.com. A couple of other accessories I found useful were the Verholen small tank bag:

http://pirateslair.net/ProductGT.htm

...and the Illum sidestand foot:

http://www.ascycles.com/detail.aspx?ID=43161

Enjoy!