IGNORED

Shorai Battery

wsreid

Just saw an ad in Motorcyclist touting the lithium Shorai battery as an OEM replacement. Being on my third OEM battery in my 2006 R1200RT (all replaced under the battery warranty, fortunately), the Shorai ad copy is tempting (and not just because of the young lady in the red bikini). Anyone had any experience with this battery?

Was a reason found why your batteries are failing? Even a mediocre stock gel or agm should last 3-5 years on average.

-MKL

I finally got the site to give me a listing for the R12RT. It's selling for $187. I am due for a replacement (5 years on the original in my '05), so I would like to see some reviews!

Here's a review... I have some experience with these types of batteries, as my company uses them in some of the UPS Systems we produce for the military. We just touched on this over at the "Hybrid Hatred" thread, but here again is some of the application note I wrote for my company's UPS Systems re traditional sealed lead acid batteries vs. LiFePO4 (full text here http://www.novaelectric.com/life.php for reference):

Some advantages of the LiFePO4 are listed below for reference:

4X higher energy density than lead-acid battery: The gravimetric energy density of the LiFePO4 battery is ~130 Wh/kg, almost four times higher than that of a typical Lead-acid battery, at 35Wh/kg. For the UPS user, this means far greater run times while running on battery, without any space penalty.

Light Weight: Despite the vastly higher energy density, the LiFePO4 battery packs are, in most cases, only 1/3 the weight of conventional lead acid packs. So for applications where weight savings are critical, the use of LiFePO4 batteries can result in significant reductions in overall system weight.