IGNORED

Advanced Training Schools

pmdave

Have you had a positive experience with one or more of the independent (non-MSF) training schools? If so, I'd like to hear about it. Name of school, lead instructor, email contact, etc.

pmdave

I was a full-fledged instructor for Keith Code and would be glad to talk to you about the pluses and negatives of the program.

Yes.

Lee Parks Total Control

through www.christineskickstart.com

Sorry, can't remember the lead instructor

~5/2007

www.bigapplemotorcycleschool.com/

Diane and George Ortiz both lead instructors and owners.

I had great experiences at both Keith Code's and Freddie Spencer's schools. I expect you know where to find Keith's, and Freddie's is no more.

Paul Mihalka

I did many-many of Reg Pridmore's CLASS schools. It is on a race track, but it is not to prepare you for racing, or going extra fast. It is about bike control and pushing your and the bike's limits as far as you are comfortable. I called it my personal yearly tune-up. I always went with the bike I use every day, with no changes in setup. Like I took it to the track with the same ME880 tires I used on the street. I wanted to explore the limits I have on the road.

markgoodrich

Start with Lee Parks's school. He's franchised it, so there should be one not too far from you. It's a one day, low speed deal. I don't mean he teaches you how to ride at low speed.

Then check your nearby track day operation. They almost all have a school. Cheap, close, and usually better than you expect.

I have to disagree (a very rare occurrence) with Paul about Pridmore's school. It's a glorified track day, in my opinion, with too many students, too few instructors. I did a two-day version several years ago, and came away thinking the instructors had a great time tearing around Laguna Seca while I was trying to figure out what a double apex meant.